Peter Gammons has been inducted in the National Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association Hall of Fame, while Bob Ryan has been named sportswriter of the year for the third straight year. Dan Shaughnessy was named the Massachusetts state sportswriter of the year.

John Madden was inducted to the Hall along with Gammons, and Jim Nantz was named national sportscaster of the year,  his fifth award.

Elsewhere in New England, Mike Lynch was named the MA sportscaster of the year. In Rhode Island, Steve Hyder and Steve McDonald shared the sportscaster of the year award, while Joe McDonald was the sportswriter of the year. In NH, Mike Murphy is sportscaster of the year and Allen Lessels is sportswriter of the year. In Connecticut, Kevin Nathan and Jeff Jacobs were honored, In Maine, it is Clem LaBree and Rich Kimball on the sportscaster side and Peter Warner on the writing side. Finally, in VT, George Commo and Ted Ryan received the awards.

Get the full list here:

Gammons, Madden Earn 2009 NSSA Hall of Fame Inductions (Sports Media News)


6 thoughts on “Ryan, Gammons, Shaughnessy, Lynch Honored by NSSA

    1. Exactly.

      Only other fellow media hacks could think that Shank deserves any kind of award at this point in his not-so-illustrious career.


  1. If I’m Gammons, I pretend I’m having a stroke in the john and then drain the weasel on The CHB’s leg.

    I’m sure it wouldn’t be the first time someone laid the green stream on the douche.


  2. How about some props for George Commo, the longtime voice of Norwich University hockey (among his many broadcasting jobs). This is the eighth time he’s been named Vermont Sportscaster of the Year. I’ve been privileged to meet George on a few occasions, and he is definitely one of the good guys in the business.


Comments are closed.